Pretending to Be…


New Banner…
June 20, 2008, 2:33 am
Filed under: Picture and a Couple Words, Pretending to be an Artist

banner
I was OD bored today… family getting on my last nerve… not even worth talking about it here… and the worst part is I dont even have my own room to go lock myself in… it fucking blows… It makes me wonder why the fuck I even come back home sometimes…

Anyway reworked my banner so the shit can have a little more meaning… I put several people that inspire me; not in life but in the areas of artistic expression.
(Going from left to right)

Woody Allen

Anyone with any kind of complex can relate to Woody. He’s represents the short, ugly, bald, and social introvert inside all of us. His life and work helps us all realize that true success is in relationship to your faults not DESPITE of them.
And more personally I always found his humor and witty dialog in movies absolutely captivating and in my attempt to copy that style no one understands or thinks my jokes are funny anymore… =(

Salvador Dali

You know those people who go to museums and stare at impressionist and classical paintings? I never understood those people. I mean its a fuckin’ painting of a lake. Why are you staring?? Or a painting a naked dude riding a horse. I mean WTF? But if you look a Dali’s work… first of all they BLOW YOUR MIND. His work is the pinnacle of surrealist painting. But if you slowly take in this work you begin to realize that surrealism becomes realism as you interpret it. Dali’s creativity is not in his depth of imagination but the simple messages that are encoded in worlds of fantasy.

Langston Hughes

Simply put, during a time where society told him that black was ugly, that nappy hair was hideous, that dark skin was a flaw, where his people were marginalized, discriminated against, and even killed he stood practically alone in saying that “Black is Beautiful.” He did not lead through activism but through poetry and prose and literature. Its one thing to be confident in your skin when people praise you, but its a totally different thing when you are vilified and even your own people think lowly of themselves and you STILL have the self inclination to say I AM BEAUTIFUL. Its pretty inspiring.

Frank Gehry

His buildings just make anyone’s jaw drop.
Rumor has it that even when he shits it becomes some kind of artistic sculpture.

Nasir Jones

I dont even have to explain this one.
The World is Yours

I sip the Dom P, watchin Gandhi til I’m charged
Then writin in my book of rhymes, all the words pass the margin
To hold the mic I’m throbbin, mechanical movement
Understandable smooth shit that murderers move wit
The thief’s theme, play me at night, they won’t act right
The fiend of hip-hop has got me stuck like a crack pipe
The mind activation, react like I’m facin time like
‘Pappy’ Mason with pens I’m embracin
Wipe the sweat off my dome, spit the phlegm on the streets
and the Nikes on my feet, makes my cypher, complete
Whether crusin in a six-cab, or Montero Jeep
I can’t call it, the beats make me fallin asleep
I keep fallin, but never fallin six feet deep
I’m out for presidents to represent me
I’m out for presidents to represent me
I’m out for dead presidents to represent me

yup…

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

cool

Comment by An Rong

and i did take those photos, the guy in the middle doesnt look like langston hughes

Comment by An Rong

There’s an old joke – um… two elderly women are at a Catskill mountain resort, and one of ’em says, “Boy, the food at this place is really terrible.” The other one says, “Yeah, I know; and such small portions.” Well, that’s essentially how I feel about life – full of loneliness, and misery, and suffering, and unhappiness, and it’s all over much too quickly.

Comment by Louie

louie: wtf

Comment by Jun

that’s from annie hall

Comment by Louie

didnt get around to watch annie hall yet, only became a woody allen fan a few years ago…

Comment by Jun

Uhhh…Mr. Suh…no point in pretending to be an artist….you are.
Whose to say that you aren’t. And I think you are. ahahaha. if that means anything at all.

Comment by Jess Man




Leave a Reply

