Pretending to Be…


Failure…
September 5, 2008, 7:29 pm
Filed under: Pretending to be an Architect, Pretending to be an Artist

So for the first project of Design VI this year we are submitting an entry for the THE 3RD ANNUAL ED BACON STUDENT COMPETITION: REBUILD AND REVIVE . And to start we were supposed to do a “creative” piece on our first impressions of the site. The site is in Ludlow, Philadelphia (North Philly) and its pretty shitty.
This is what I did:


What I basically did was I took a bunch of songs that reminded of the site, e.g. “The Corner” by Common, “The Ave” by Run DMC, “Comin’ From Where I’m From” by Anthony Hamilton, “One Love” by Nas…. you get the drift, and then I did a world cloud by seeing what words came up the most in all the song’s lyrics. Basically its a analysis on why those songs remind me of the site and the actually words that the lyrics contain and the repeated use of some words that I dont realize consciously. It didnt go over too well with my professor, but it wasnt too bad. I’ve had worse criticism….

I get the feeling I’ll be having a lonnnnnggggg semester….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

