Pretending to Be…


Not Loving Love Lockdown…
September 9, 2008, 3:08 am
Filed under: Pretending to be a Rapper | Tags: , ,


So i got around to hearing Kanye’s new single that he unveiled during the VMA’s yesterday, (Heres the ripped version of it if you aint lent a ear to it yet), and to I am NOT feeling it.
Now let me say this, “Love Lockdown” will be a enormous hit and will be absolutely beaten to death by the radio but Im really not feeling it…
Dont get me worng, “Love Lockdown” is a good song, great song maybe, but Kanye didnt rap one bar. I know, I know, good music is good music and Kanye is a musician, blah blah blah…. but the Kanye I became a fan of was Kanye the rapper. Not the producer, not the blogger, not the singer, but the rapper. And the music scene does not need Kanye the musician. But the music scene NEEDS Kanye the rapper. The RAP game needs Kanye the rapper. And apparently Kanye will do a lot more singing than rapping on this upcoming album. Taking Kanye away from rap is like taking the paintbrush away from Van Gogh, all you are left with is a mentally deficient dude who likes to cut his own ear off. I want to see paintings not the other mindless bullshit that happens in rap without Kanye.

But I digress…

Rap is a genre of music that I love so much but most rappers rap in a way that I cant relate, mostly beacause of my ethnicity and also my values. I love lyricism which means that 90% of rappers will never get any ear-play from me. Then, I really never sold any crack nor do I respect people that do so that means I really dont listen to The Clipse, Jeezy, or T.I. I was never the “Parking Lot Pimpin” kinda person, nor could I EVER “Justify my Thug”, and although I had 99 problems a bitch certainly WAS one. So the grandiose persona of Jay-Z never fit my taste either. Flow and delivery is also important to me so the sharp and intrusive style of Talib Kweli never fit my ear and I can NOT stand Lil Wayne who sounds like my little 11 year old Korean cousin trying to read a Dr. Seuss book. Oh, by the way I can stand stupid rappers that act like… well, stupid rappers. So I refuse to listen to The Game either. Slowly but surely the list of rappers I can enjoy listening to grow smaller and smaller.

Again, I digress…


I need Kanye to make keep on making rap music…

I woke up early this morning with a new state of mind
a creative way to rhyme without using knives and guns
keep your nose out the sky keep your heart to god
and keep your face to the rising sun

“I arguing what kind of doctor can we find?
You know the best medicine goes to people thats paid,
If Magic Johnson got the cure for AIDS
and all the broke muthafuckas pass away
you tellin’ me if my grandma was in the NBA
right now she’ll be ok???”

“If my manager insults me again I will be assaulting him
After I fuck the manager up then I’m gonna shorten the register up”


“Now niggas can’t make it to ballots to choose leadership
But we can make it to Jacob and to the dealership
That’s why I hear new music
And I just don’t be feeling it
Racism still alive they just be concealing it
But I know they don’t want me in the damn club
They even made me show I.D to get inside of Sam’s club”


“Made a mill myself, and I’m still myself
And I’ma look in the mirror if I need some help
Ask me from the heart, y’all all frontin
Everybody feel a way about K but at least y’all feel somethin


“I am limelight, Blueprint, 5 Mics
Go getters rhyme like, shoulda been signed twice
Most imitated, Grammy nominated
Hotel accommodated, cheerleader, prom dated
Barbershop, playa hated, mom and pop, bootlegged it
Felt like it rained till the roof caved in
Two words, Chi town, raised me, crazy
So I live by two words, “Fuck you, pay me”

So if Kanye wants to channel his inner Bono then Kanye earned to do what he wants. But damn….

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey man, yea soompi ktv. basically its just a meet up of various members from the forum.

i’ve met up with them before and made a lot of new friends, some I hang out with now.

nice blog man, I didn’t know you were into this stuff.

kanye’s got good music, but he’s pretty arrogant/cocky..”i should be in the bible” smh

Comment by dunhill

I love lyricism which means that 90% of rappers will never get any ear-play from me

i understand if you don’t like what jay-z or lil wayne talk about, but there two of the best lyricists in the game.

Flow and delivery is also important to me so the sharp and intrusive style of Talib Kweli never fit my ear

Talib is a living legend and probably top 5 lyricists in the last 10 years, so you don’t make any sense…listening to kanye and nas doesn’t mean you like hip hop

Comment by Goodtimes

Goodtimes-
sorry im not the most articulate of people,
but Im not saying Wayne, Jay-Z, Talib are not good lyricist… Im saying of the BEST LYRICIST in the rap game,I dont enjoy listening to them 3 as much because of the reasons I mentioned.

If someone says Talib makes bad music, that can be argued to a degree… But if someone says he is not one of the best lyricist and emcees of all time then they are just stupid…. and im not stupid…

also Kanye is one of those rare rappers where you can put on any record he came out with and listen to it (I cant say that about most rappers ESPECIALLY Nas, even though I enjoy most of his catalog.)… thats why I want him to keep on rapping not singing,its not hate, im just a kanye stan stating my opinion…

Comment by Jun




Leave a Reply

